Review : Egomaniac by Vi Keeland

 

32848471.jpg

*Every Pictures, Quotes and Gifs are not belong to me*

More on my Goodreads account : Click me! My Goodreads account

BRILLIANT AND ADDICTIVE

This book should be one of the nominees for Goodreads Choice 2017

A new standalone novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author, Vi Keeland

Am I satisfied with this book?
(Requirements : Angst, beautiful endings, page turner)

Scale :
1 = Nope! Definitely not satisfied
2 = Meh, it was okay
3 = YES! Purely satisfied

My scale for Egomaniac is 3

Angst? Low to medium (Close to medium)
Ending? A beautiful and perfect ending You guys will love it!
Page turner? Without a doubt *Yes yes yes*

Goodreads rating I give for this book : 5 stars

Major keywords for Egomaniac Trust and priority

Trust

“Have enough courage to trust love one more time and always one more time.”
-Maya Angelou

Priority

“Happiness isn’t always easy,” he’d said. “But it’s a priority.”
– Goldy Moldavsky, Kill the Boy Band

Egomaniac has too many killer suspense, incredibly-shocking plot-twist OMG OMG OMG (Yep turned me to a religious person), evocative and heart-wrenching

This book is told from Drew Jagger and Emerie Rose (PS : HER NAME IS REALLY PRETTY!). However, it is heavily emphasis on Drew. There are few scenes where it brought us back to Drew’s past but just a short one. His past showed us why the present Drew is like that. Having trust issues and afraid of love

Truthfully speaking, I’m struggling on how to review without spoilers. Because I don’t want to ruin the major and killer suspense scenes. For real, I couldn’t stop reading. My reading pace is getting faster and faster cause “I JUST WANNA KNOW WHAT AND WHY!!”. In the meantime, my heart beats as fast as Usain Bolt.

As for me, this book is mainly emphasis on trust and priority

Trust is an important aspect in our life. We need it as our assurance. Security. Bond. Once our trust towards someone we love, adore, care is smashed, crippled and shattered. We start to live our life having “Trust issues”. We hardly trust anyone. Because we start to live in fear of being lied to or betrayed

“I mean the part where two people get together and start to rely on each other, share a life even, and then one of them fucks the other one over.” -Drew Jagger

For priority, you know what they say. I will just quote it. It is more than enough, just reading the quote you will understand.

“If it’s important you’ll find a way. If it’s not, you’ll find an excuse.”
– Ryan Blair

Drew Jagger

Of course, Vi Keeland knows how to make swoon sexy males. Drew Jagger is definitely a catch. Apart from his looks, he is a successful attorney. So what does that mean ladies? He is freaking loaded $$$$. Lets put aside his money. If he is an attorney what does that make him? Competitive, Mr. Know it all and he is good with his mouth Meow

His past made him who he is now. It is a significant event and important plot for this book. We can’t blame him for having trust issues or afraid of love. When I read his past I was “Drew aww, it is okay love, it is okay love”. Putting his trust issues and afraid of love aside, we have this sweet, smart mouth, straight forward, confident and caring Drew.

People don’t leave when they love someone. They stick around forever.

description

This quote by Drew Jagger definitely won me.

What made this story better and heart-wrenching is due to Drew’s past that changed him. “Changed” is probably a strong word, more like what made him more self-aware in relationships? Full of trust issues and fear of love. He just went to the route what is familiar to him and what matters the most to him. Another baggage, that made his fear and issue stronger is his work. Well, he is an attorney, lawyer specialized in matrimonial. Which acts like a constant reminder, love is not a beautiful thing. Something that cannot be trusted with.

His past pretty much taught him that when you fall in love, it gets taken away.

description

Emerie Rose

She is a psychologist, work as therapist for troubled marriages. She is a beautiful, nice, kind and sweet lady. I think she is the sweetest female character I’ve ever encountered.

I stepped back and smiled, rereading my quote. God, I love helping people.

She believed in love, believes marriages will last if two people work things out.

“Just because you’re physically thousands of miles away doesn’t mean hearts are. You should each take time to let the other know you’re thinking of them”

description

I love their relationship development. It is not rushed, forced or all about sexual. Its just them falling for one another after spending time together. How they met and it all started is amusing. Out of 100% the probability is quite low. And it made you think “It is fate” cause life can be silly at times. They are cute and funny together, Drew work as a divorce lawyer and Emerie work as helping couples get back together. Its a total complete opposite. Of course, we must have a climax or dramatic scenes or events or plots that made us dreary in an angsty-way (We love that don’t we?) and emotional. Yeah we have that in this book. Yep, It got me reading non-stop. We have that bitchy character, the great bestfriend, the “you should die” character. Worth my time xo (And no, this is not sarcasm)

Before I met you, I didn’t understand why things never worked out with anyone else. But I finally understand it now; it’s because they weren’t you.

description

OH YES! The epilogue is perfect! It sums everything up and totally put your mind at ease.

description

Check out her other book that I have read:

5 stars!
Stuck-Up Suit by Vi Keeland = My review on Stuck-up suit

Happy reading guys! 🙂

Leave a Reply

